Wisconsin Hall of Fame Foundation Recognizes Conservationists

Wisconsin has historically pioneered new concepts and ideas. A number of progressive steps toward the conservation of natural resources have originated in Wisconsin, including: the first rural zoning law in the U.S., the first pilot soil conservation demonstration project in the U.S., the first general conservation curriculum started by Fred Schmeeckle, and the first bond issue for outdoor recreation.

These progressive ideas and programs have been accomplished through the continuing efforts of leaders in the conservation field. These individuals have exhibited wisdom, foresight and perseverance, and have gained support of the Wisconsin citizens.

The Wisconsin Conservation Hall of Fame and Hall of Fame Foundation have been established to permanently recognize the people who have made contributions in resource management. The Hall of Fame shall encourage citizens to involve themselves in efforts to manage resources effectively and beneficially promote an interest in conservation among Wisconsin youth and to encourage continued education about conservation issues so they inspire leadership in future resource conservation efforts.

The Annual Induction Ceremony

The Wisconsin Conservation Hall of Fame (WCHF) Foundation holds an annual Induction Ceremony typically on a Saturday nearest the national Earth Day celebration. Conservation leaders to be inducted are announced mid-January of the year of induction. See WCHF Blog.

The coffee reception before, the Induction  Ceremony and the luncheon that follows is typically held in the Atrium at SentryWorld in Stevens Point, Wisconsin. Specific details and registration information will follow the mid-January announcement. Please see WCHF Blog. The public is invited.

Read the bios of past inductees below.

Hall of Fame Inductees

Click the name of any inductee below for full information:

William J. P. Aberg
George Archibald
George Becker
Nils Folke Becker
Herbert F. Behnke
C.D. “Buzz” Besadny
Jacob Beuscher
Nina Leopold Bradley
W. Noble Clark
Ruth Clusen
Mel Cohee
John Thomas Curtis
Noel Jefferson Cutright
E. M. Dahlberg
Emily Earley
Robert S. Ellarson
David C. Engleson
David Clark Everest
Clifford Germain
Wallace Byron Grange
E. M. Griffith
Owen Gromme
Frederick & Frances Hamerstrom
Martin Hanson
Richard A. Hemp
Joseph Hickey
Ruth Hine
William Horvath
Richard A. Hunt
Robert L. Hunt
Paul Husting
Hugh Iltis
Laurence Jahn
Harold “Bud” Jordahl
Warren Knowles
Ronald Koshoshek
Walter Kuhlmann
Wilhelmine A. LaBudde
David Ladd
Increase A. Lapham
Aldo Leopold
Henry Liebzeit
LeRoy Joseph Lintereur
Ingebord “Ingie” Lothe
Roy & Charlotte Lukes
Russell G. Lynch
Wakelin “Ranger Mac” McNeel


Learn about Wisconsin Conservation Hall of Fame inductees through the history of Horicon Marsh. The WCHF and Schmeeckle Visitor Center includes a sunlit gallery displaying the recognition plaques of the inductees.