Board of Governors

The Board of Governors has the responsibility of reviewing all nominations for the Hall of Fame. They meet once a year, typically in August, to go over every completed nomination and to pick the five most outstanding to submit to the WCHF Board of Directors for selection of the following year’s inductee(s) into the Hall of Fame.

Bill Berry

Bill is a self-employed writer, editor and communications specialist. His major areas of emphasis are conservation, agriculture and forestry.  He is a columnist for The Capital Times newspaper, Madison, Wisconsin. He is also a communications specialist and author for Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters project on the “Future of Farming and Rural Life in Wisconsin” and communications director for CAP Services, Stevens Point, Wisconsin. Past journalist work includes editor, news editor and columnist Stevens Point (Wisconsin) Journal; reporter and columnist, Wausau (Wisconsin) Daily Herald;  state editor, Janesville (Wisconsin) Gazette;  reporter, Wausau (Wisconsin) Daily Herald. He is an adjunct faculty member, Division of Communications, University of Wisconsin Stevens Point, and author of “Come Together: Wisconsin’s DDT Battles and the Modern Environmental Movement,”  Wisconsin Historical Society, 2013 and numerous reports on local and national conservation, soil, water and agricultural policy papers for the  National Association of Conservation Districts. In 2014,  the Wisconsin Historical Society Press published his book Banning DDT – How citizen activists in Wisconsin led the way.

Tim Eisele

Tim is a full-time freelance outdoor writer/photographer in Madison. He is a life-long Wisconsin resident, and has written articles about Wisconsinites who have been involved in natural resources since 1969. In 1999 he was asked by Wisconsin Outdoor Journal to select the 20 most influential people over hunting and fishing in Wisconsin during the 1900s. Tim also manages 100 acres of land in Crawford County where he and his wife have installed a prairie and are trying to improve biodiversity and habitat for wildlife. He has served on the WCHF Board of Governors since 2000.

Alan Haney

Alan is Emeritus Professor of Forestry College of Natural Resources University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. He came to Stevens Point in 1988 as dean of the College of Natural Resources, a position he held for 10 years. He returned to full-time teaching and research in 1998, then retired in 2007. He now devotes his energy to writing, consulting, forest management, and occasional lectures. His areas of expertise include ecosystem restoration, adaptive management, savanna restoration, land conservation, and forest community responses to disturbance. His published work includes 12 books, and over four dozen technical papers. Alan has been a board member or science advisor for ten conservation and environmental organizations in Wisconsin, including the Conservation Hall of Fame, Sand County Foundation and the Ice Age Trail Alliance. He was honored in 1997 by the School of Natural Resources, UW-Madison, with the Wisconsin Idea Award, and in 2000 by the Society for Conservation Biology with the White Lady-slipper Award for his contributions to conservation of biological diversity.

George Meyer

George has been Executive Director of the Wisconsin Wildlife Federation since 2003. He served as a Visiting Professor in Environmental and Government Studies at Lawrence University for two years; Worked at the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources for thirty-two years: ten years as an attorney, twelve years as Administrator of the Enforcement Division, eight years as Secretary and two years as a Special Assistant to the Secretary. George served in leadership roles in the Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies and the Environmental Council of the States. He was inducted into the Wisconsin Conservation Hall of Fame in 2017.

Christine Thomas

Christine Thomas retired as dean of the College of Natural Resources at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point in 2020. In addition to her role as a university educator, Thomas developed the Becoming an Outdoors Woman program, designed to teach women outdoor skills. In 2005, Thomas was appointed by the Secretary of Interior during the George W. Bush administration to serve on the Sporting Conservation Council. Currently, Thomas is Senior Vice President for Conservation for Ducks Unlimited and member of its Board of Directors, as well as a professional member of the Boone and Crockett Club. In 2010, she was appointed by the Secretaries of Interior and Agriculture in the Obama administration to the position of vice chair of the Wildlife and Hunting Heritage and Conservation Council. She was appointed by Governor Doyle serve on the Wisconsin Natural Resources Board, serving three years as chair. Christine was inducted into the Wisconsin Conservation Hall of Fame in 2017.